Uncategorized

Baby 2 and other random updates

Surprise! We are expecting baby #2 in October.

This came to us by surprise as well. We were ‘careful’, but the Universe had other plans. We’re completely ecstatic, although we’re the kind of family who hates surprises.

My son is almost 3 (this Saturday!). He will be in early prekindergarten (3-year old program) this fall, and this makes me feel a bit more relaxed about the second one coming. At least he’s more independent, potentially completely (including poos) potty trained by then, and spends less time in the house.

We’re hoping for a girl, but my body feels as if it were carrying another boy. You know what they always say: As long as it’s healthy, I don’t care if it’s a boy or a girl.

This pregnancy is different from my first. I feel more tired, more depressed and anxious, more sick, and just more not-in-the-mood. I’m lucky my job is pretty flexible, and the people around me so very understanding of my body/mood swings.

I’ve been showing sooner than I used to with my first. I donated all my old maternity clothes, so I have to start from scratch again.

I’m also done with grad school. I just submitted my thesis and awaiting my final grade. I was supposed to enroll straight to doctoral studies but decided to postpone that because of my pregnancy. This gives me more time (and less stress) to make the most out of these 9 months.

I’ve been working for the same employer for almost five years now. That’s half a decade, the longest I’ve ever been with an employer. I’m thinking of adding adjunct faculty duties into the mix but I’m still undecided, again because of this little bun in the oven.

Am I excited? I’m excited that Marcus will have a sibling. I’m not excited about the whole process of giving him a sibling. I want this to be a happy, stress-free pregnancy and Chris and I are working on doing just that by being stronger partners and supporters of each other.

I plan to use this free time I’m getting from finishing grad school to get back to writing/blogging. I just wish I was more inspired to do it.

Leave a comment